January 16, 2010

Gilchrist and Hayden Clarify Speculation

Posted in IPL tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 3:01 pm by techtwist

Few days back, Adam Gilchrist’s Manager Stephen Atkinson had quoted, “Adam is aware of the situation and he is always very mindful of the security concerns in India. Adam was looking to play in this year’s tournament but it is always a worry when statements like that (made by Shiv Sena) are being made. Ultimately, he will be guided by the views of Cricket Australia and security experts.” This was misinterpreted by the press and the news that Gilchrist wouldn’t be a part of IPL 3 started making rounds. In a recent interview, Gilchrist clarified this and quoted, “I love playing in India. My manager’s quote has been misinterpreted and I am quite keen to play in India”.

He was further told PTI that, “I cannot speak for other players but I am sure to tour India in March for the IPL. I am confident of Mr. Modi and the IPL organisers. I have some fine memories of India and would like to extend that”. Leter on even Matthew Hayden confirmed his participation and stated that, “The process is that the security agencies will investigate and let Cricket Australia know who will let the players know, but the final decision is in the hands of the players. You will definitely see me in India for IPL 3.I have been welcomed into the bosom of India as a brother. I feel very humbled and privileged to be able to play here. I am looking forward to IPL 3 and am confident it will be a huge success.”

So, as of now, none of the Australian players have pulled out of the auction and hopefully we will get to see them in action this year. I personally feel that the sport shouldn’t be mixed up with all the political issues. What happened in Australia to the Indian students is certainly a bad example and it is unjust, but then I don’t think that not allowing Australian players to take part in India is the solution. This might hamper the preparations for the World Cup next year.

Leave a Reply

