September 11, 2008

ICC Awards 2008 Round Up

Posted in Cricket tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 9:24 pm by techtwist

West Indian Batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul bagged the ICC Player Of The Year. With this award, he is the fifth player to receive this prestigious award. He out did the other contenders in Greame Smith, Dale Steyn and Mahela Jayawardene.

South African Dale Steyn was awarded with the Test Player Of The Year. He was in a phenomenal form last year where he became the fastest to 50 test wickets. India’s ODI skipper, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, was awarded the ICC ODI Player Of The Year. Even he has been in good touch steering his team home on many occations.

His deputy, Yuvraj Singh bagged the inaugral ICC T20 Player Of The Year for the six sixes that he hit in the T20 World Cup. The newest Spin Sensation, Ajantha Mendis ran away with the Emerging Player Of The Year Award for his splendid performance against the Indians. The Australian Umpire, Simon Taufel, got his fifth award as the Umpire Of The Year after being voted by all the Captains of the 10 member nations and the 8 match referees.

Sri Lanka received the award for Spirit Of Cricket for the second consecutive time for they have managed to behave very well on the field. English Skipper, Charlotte Edwards won the Women’s Player Of The Year after steering her team to a 4-0 win over the Indians. The ICC Test and ODI twelve have been announced and here is the list.

ICC Test Team of the Year : Greame Smith (SA, capt), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Jacques Kallis (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wk), Brett Lee (Aus), Ryan Sidebottom (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL). 12th man: Stuart Clark (Aus).

ICC ODI Team of the Year : Hershelle Gibbs (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Ricky Ponting (Aus, capt), Younis Khan (Pak), Andrew Symonds (Aus), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wk), Farveez Maharoof (SL), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Brett Lee (Aus), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Nathan Bracken (Aus). 12th man: Salman Butt (Pak)


August 27, 2008

India Clinch The Idea Cup ODI Series

Posted in Cricket tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 10:53 pm by techtwist

A splendid performance by the Indians ensured that they go on to win their first ever bilateral tie in Sri Lanka. Special credit should be given to Zaheer Khan who was amidst a brilliant spell. He was ably supported by Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel and Harbhajan Singh.

As for the batting department Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Suresh Raina played a couple of good innings in consecutive matches and that partnership ensured that enough damage was inflicted to the Lankans. They way they handled both the spinners, Ajantha Mendis and Muttiah Muralidaran was creditable. Probably this should end the talk of Indians not playing spin properly in recent times. MSD should be a happy man.

August 11, 2008

Sri Lanka Clinch Series

Posted in Cricket tagged , , , , , , , , at 5:48 pm by techtwist

Sri Lanka have won the Idea Cup series 2-1. It was a good show put up by the hosts. The stand out performance from my perspective was that of Kumara Sangakkara. His century turned the tables around for the Sri Lankans. As the trend says, Mendis factor did work out well for them for the third time around.

They were also bolstered by the pace offered by Dammika Prasad which also proved quite effective. He managed to send back the Indian openers twice over which was very crucial factor. The Indians were thoroughly outplayed and the Sri Lankans deserved a victory. Ajantha Mendis became the most successful bowler while on debut in a three match test series. That is something that he can relish for having achieved this against the World’s Best Players Of Spin.

However I’m happy that Sachin Tendulkar will get an opportunity to break the World Record here in India. Man, can’t wait to see the crowd errupt to cheer the Master Blaster.

August 3, 2008

India Level The Series At Galle

Posted in Cricket tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 10:46 pm by techtwist

Indians have done it again when their backs were completely against the wall. What a way to comeback after suffering the third biggest loss? No one expected India to win the game. But then, the Indians have proved their mettle once again. Anil Kumble said he was not surprised by this victory as he had full faith in his team and knew what every member was capable of in their dressing room.

First, it was Sehwag in the first innings with that magnificient 201*. It was his 11 century on a trot which has been converted into a 150+ score. What a feat? It was a terrific display of his mental strength to comeback in such a way after the first test loss. He single handedly took India to a position of comfort. Then it was Harbhajan Singh who picked up six wickets to back Sehwag’s effort. Sehwag and Gambhir again propelled India to a good start and as usual, the Indians fumbled out of nowhere. The worst part is that they looked pretty comfortable against the spinners.

Then Ishanth Sharma and Zaheer Khan bowled beautifully. Both looked good for more wickets. Ishanth Sharma in particular was at his devastating best. It reminded me of his duel with Ricky Ponting at Perth ( Listen To What Sanjay Manjrekar Had To Say About Ishanth Sharma ). He was consistently around the 135-140 kmph mark. His spell was inspirational. By the time the spinners came, the damage was already done. Credit should go to the 19 year old lad for his efforts. Then Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble completed the other formalities and we won by 170 runs.

There were few more areas where we could improve and if we can get that right it would be a another cracker of a contest in a weeks time. Mahela Jayawardene was so very impressed with Ishanth Sharma that he has already hinted at a pace bowler in his line-up. The highlight of this match was how the openers nullified Ajantha Mendis and Muralidaran. It was a treat to watch them dominate the Sri Lankan spinners. If they can repeat the show, we can probably bag this series.

August 1, 2008

One Man Show

Posted in Cricket tagged , , , , , , , , at 7:34 pm by techtwist

Virender Sehwag showcased his class again with an authoritative 201* on Day 2 at Galle. He played with the same vigour with which he played yesterday even though the wickets kept tumbling at the other end. The famed middle order kept collapsing at the other end and Sehwag never looked bothered about it.

Only V.V.S.Laxman gave him a good support as the duo put on 100+ before Laxman was dismissed. The tail never wagged too. It was all left to Sehwag who single handedly put India in a decent position that they are in now. He extended his record for 11 consecutive 150+ scores in Test cricket. Also he has scored 14 fifties along with his 15 hundreds. Look at this for a conversion rate.

Some people say that he never has the technique or the temperament to play at this level. Well people, show me a much more impressive track record. He was also selfless. He actually denied taking a single when on 199 so as to protect the tail. How many of them can actually do this? Not many will be the answer straight away.

Mendis picked up his first fivefer in test cricket and then later in the day Harbhajan Singh picked four wickets to bring the match into a proper balance. But still, Virender Sehwag stole the show. What a player? Check this link to see the list of batsmen who have carried their bats through the innings.

Next page